Ray Parkin’s Odyssey wins Highly Commended from Fellowship Of Australian Writers

Ray Parkin’s Odyssey has won a Highly Commended award from the Fellowship Of Australian Writers in the 2012 National Literary Awards!

From the award details:


Advertised as the FAW Sid Harta Literature Award
Sponsored by Fellowship of Australian Writers (FAW) Vic. Inc.

In its fortieth year, this is an Award for a non-fiction work, including biography and autobiography, of sustained quality and distinction with an Australian theme.

Winner ($1000)
Chris Masters “Uncommon Soldier” – NSW, Allen & Unwin

Highly Commended
Ross McMullin “Farewell Dear People” – VIC, Scribe Publications
Pattie Wright “Ray Parkin’s Odyssey” – NSW, Pan MacMillian

Judges’ Report by Jean Thornton and Dr Bill Anderson

Although fewer books were entered this year the entries were of a very high quality and there were a number of excellent books. The winning entries were of outstanding quality and the judges had little difficulty in arriving at their decision.

Uncommon Soldier is an important, timely, well (and bravely) researched and beautifully written book. This outstanding book is a worthy winner in a year where the competition was fierce.

Farewell Dear People and Ray Parkin’s Odyssey are splendid books. Both are prodigiously well researched, well-written and make important contributions to our historical understanding.

You can see a list of the full awards at http://www.writers.asn.au/.